Press Release

TCEA Announces 2019-20 Recipients of Educator Awards and Scholarships

by Andrew Roush | February 17, 2020 | Press Release

TCEA Announces 2019-20 Recipients of Educator Awards and Scholarships

Austin, Texas: At a reception during the 2020 Convention & Exposition in Austin, TCEA announced the winners of the 2019-2020 Educator Awards and Scholarships. These innovative educators were chosen based on their incredible accomplishments in advancing teaching and learning through technology. They fully embrace learning without limits. 

The finalists and recipients are listed below. 


Moody ISD


Richard A. Brown Student Scholarship

Sharde Williams, Ashford University

Robert E. Knight Professional Scholarship

Sandy Kendell, Georgetown ISD

Jeri Hodges Leadership Scholarship

Paula Schwertner, Bushland ISD  


Technical Support Person of the Year

Katilyn Underwood, Dayton ISD (recipient)

Nathan Davis, Dayton ISD

Amanda Leverett, Wichita Falls ISD

District or Campus Administrator of the Year

Dr. Shannon Terry, Dallas ISD (recipient)

Kathryn Ives, Pflugerville ISD

Clayton Little, DeKalb ISD

High Impact Teacher of the Year

Caitlin Boyce-Brejcha, Hays CISD (recipient)

Scott Hagedorn, Sabine Pass ISD

Alex Jones, Houston ISD

Instructional Technology Specialist of the Year 

Ali Worsham, Longview ISD (recipient)

Linda Marie Coolbaugh, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD

Dr. Jesse Fidelio Garza, Los Fresnos CISD

Librarian/Media Specialist of the Year

Michelle Carton, Anchorage School District (recipient)

Mindy Meador, Sulphur Springs ISD

Bronwyn Rumsey, Brazosport ISD

Technology Administrator of the Year

Brenda McDonald, Anderson-Shiro CISD (recipient)

Suzanne Chachere, Dayton ISD

Monica Maldonado, Diocese of Corpus Christi

School Board of the Year

Grand Prairie ISD (recipient)

Burke Hall, President

Terry Brooks, Vice President

Gloria Carrillo, Secretary

Chester McCrary

Aaron King

David Espinosa

Emily Liles

TCEA Advocacy Award

Dr. Chris Bigenho, Lewisville ISD 

Making IT Happen Award

Dwight Goodwin, Arlington ISD  

Dr. Joy Rousseau, Arp ISD 

Lifetime Achievement for the Advancement of Technology in Education

Joan Ragland, Hudson ISD  

TCEA Executive Director Lori Gracey congratulated all of the 2019-2020 Educator Award finalists and recipients, saying: “These educators exemplify the enthusiasm needed to advance teaching and learning. We’re incredibly proud of them all.”

To learn more about the Educator Awards, please visit:

TCEA ( is a nonprofit, member-based organization that has supported the use of technology in education for the last 40 years. Our primary focus is on integrating technology into the PreK-16 environment and providing our members with cutting-edge knowledge and resources through conferences, workshops, online publications, and collaborations with businesses and institutions of higher education.