Press Release

2019-2020 Educator Awards and Scholarships Finalists Announced

 Jan 10, 2020 | Press Release


Austin, Texas: TCEA (Texas Computer Education Association) is excited to announce the finalists for the 2019-2020 Educator Awards and Scholarships. These awards are given to educators who work to advance teaching and learning through innovative technology. This year’s finalists reflect the spirit of TCEA, and the very best of their profession.

Our team of judges worked diligently over several months to select the following finalists from among many qualified educators.

High Impact Teacher of the Year

Caitlin Boyce-Brejcha

Scott Hagedorn

Alex Jones

Library Media Specialist of the Year

Michelle Carton

Mindy Meador

Bronwyn Rumsey

Technical Support Person of the Year

Nathan Davis

Amanda Leverett

Katilyn Underwood

Instructional Technology Specialist of the Year

Linda Marie Coolbaugh

Dr. Jesse Fidelio Garza

Ali Worsham

District or Campus Administrator of the Year

Kathryn Ives

Clayton Little

Shannon Terry

Technology Administrator of the Year

Suzanne Chachere

Monica Maldonado

Brenda McDonald

School Board of the Year (recipient)

Grand Prairie ISD

Making IT Happen Award (recipients)

Dwight Goodwin
Joy Rousseau

Lifetime Achievement for the Advancement of Technology in Education Award (recipient)

Joan Ragland

TCEA Advocacy Award (recipient)

Chris Bigenho

Robert E. Knight Professional Scholarship (recipient)

Sandy Kendell

Richard A. Brown Student Scholarship (recipient)

Sharde Williams

Jeri Hodges Leadership Scholarship (recipient)

Paula Schwertner

TCEA Executive Director Lori Gracey congratulated all of the 2019-2020 Educator Award finalists, saying: “We couldn’t be more proud of these incredible educators. Each one of them has displayed a remarkable commitment to teaching and learning and the wise use of technology to reach those learning goals.” 

Winners will be announced on Tuesday, February 3, 2020 at a private ceremony during the 2020 TCEA Convention & Exhibition, and winners will be announced publicly shortly after. To learn more about the Educator Awards, please visit this site:

TCEA ( is a nonprofit, member-based organization that has supported the use of technology in education for the last 39 years. Our primary focus is on integrating technology into the PreK-16 environment and providing our members with cutting-edge knowledge and resources through conferences, workshops, online and print publications, and collaborations with businesses and institutions of higher education.