Press Release

TCEA Announces 2017-2018 Educator Award and Scholarship Winners

by TCEA | Feb 7, 2018 | Press Release

TCEA Announces 2017-2018 Educator Award and Scholarship Winners

Austin, Texas: Last night at a grand reception during the 2018 Convention & Exposition, TCEA announced the winners of the 2017-2018 Educator Awards and Scholarships. These incredible educators were chosen based on their efforts to advance teaching and learning through technology.

The finalists and recipients are listed below; the winners are denoted with an *.

High Impact Teacher of the Year
Jamie Jo Keeter-Morgan, Wichita Falls ISD
Lynn Koresh, Edgewood Campus School *
Valerie Satterwhite, Round Rock ISD


Library Media Specialist of the Year
Heather Aston, Coppell ISD
Annie Colvin, Lockhart ISD
Trela Weesner, Lewisville ISD*


Technical Support Person of the Year
Javier Aguilar, East Fort Worth Montessori Academy
Sherri Forrest, Prestonwood Christian Academy *
Paul McGuire, Clyde Consolidated ISD


Instructional Technology Specialist of the Year
Elizabeth Benno, Lovejoy ISD *
Bradford Harris, Aldine ISD
Tisha Poncio, Celina ISD


District or Campus Administrator of the Year
Dr. Kyle Heath, Cleburne ISD *
Amber Teamann, Wylie ISD


Technology Administrator of the Year
Kyle Ivey, Central ISD *


School Board of the Year
Cleburne ISD – Dr. Kyle Heath, Superintendent, June Bates (President), John Finnell (Vice President), DeAnna King (Secretary), Mike Witte, Wendell Dempsey, Teddy Martyniuk, and Elizabeth Childress *


Making IT Happen Award
Mark Simmons, Sabine Pass ISD *


Robert E. Knight Professional Scholarship
Sarah McManus, Henderson ISD *


Jeri Hodges Leadership Scholarship
Jan Hodge, Crowley ISD *
Cori Coburn-Shiflett, Georgetown ISD *


Friends of Education Award
Representative Donna Howard *
Chairman Dan Huberty *


Lori Gracey, the Executive Director of TCEA, congratulated all of the 2017-218 Educator Award winners, saying: “It is our honor to bestow these awards on deserving educators who are out in the field making incredible advances in teaching and learning with technology.” To learn more about the Educator Awards, please visit this site:

TCEA ( is a nonprofit, member-based organization that has supported the use of technology in education for the last 37 years. Our primary focus is on integrating technology into the PreK-16 environment and providing our members with cutting-edge knowledge and resources through conferences, workshops, online and print publications, and collaborations with higher education and business.